Samsung Smartwatch Rumours – Live Stream, Release Date, UK Price & Features

  • 171 Views

Samsung is about to unveil a new wearable to the world alongside the Galaxy Note 8 at its Unpacked event this week.

Rumours abound, but all seem to agree that it won’t be the Gear S4: that’s likely to launch in October this year.

Instead, we could be treated to a new Gear Sport or the Gear Fit 2 Pro, an even more sport-oriented fitness band.

Samsung smartwatch 2017: Release date

We don’t yet have a date for when you’ll be able to buy it, but you’ll find out the facts when Samsung officially announces the device at its Unpacked Event on 23 August.

That will be in New York, but you’ll be able to watch the live stream at 4pm BST (UK time), which is 8am PDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST/11pm HKT/midnight KST/1am 24 August AEST.

Will it be the Gear Fit 2 Pro?

According to Pocket Lint, Samsung confirmed a new wearable in a survey it sent to members of its SmartLab Plus “interactive online space”.

If it’s the same device that other sites are claiming to be the Fit 2 Pro, then it will be a slim wristband that has interchangeable straps.

That’s not too surprising: this would be a mere ‘upgrade’ of the Gear Fit 2 which is already on sale for £179.99 at retailers including Argos

It’s waterproof so it can track your swims, has built-in GPS and the new device can supposedly also track your weight and calorie intake (probably via the companion app rather than directly).

The eagle-eyed will have also spotted the change from the Fit 2’s clasp to a traditional watch-like buckle.

As it’s not a smartwatch like the Gear S3, it is unlikely to run Android Wear but rather Samsung’s own Tizen operating system.

Judging by the leaked images, which look just like the Gear Fit 2, it will have a screen that’s large enough to show your daily progress at a glance and will have activity reminders when you’re idle for too long.

The Fit 2 Pro will also let you listen to music via your Spotify subscription (but offline) and sync with the Speedo On app – image via Venture Beat.

According to Evan Blass, it will cost US$199.99, and since the Gear Fit 2 costs US$179.99, it’s easy to predict it will be £199.99 in the UK.

Samsung Gear Sport rumours

While some appear confident that Samsung will officially launch the Gear Fit 2 Pro at Unpacked, others think we could see another model added to the Gear S3 range, called the “Gear S3 Sport”.

This is fuelled by a new device filing at the FCC, the US equivalent of the European CE certification, which shows a circular gadget with a heart-rate monitor and the part number SM-R600.

That’s different to the SM-R360 (the Gear Fit 2) and supposed SM-R365 (Gear Fit 2 Pro).

Samsung Gear Sport FCC SM-R600

Beyond this image, however, there are no other details about the smartwatch.

In fact, the FCC filing doesn’t call it a smartwatch but instead a “wrist device”.

We’ll all just have to wait and see what transpires at Unpacked on Wednesday…

Source link
 

Previous «
Next »